I think I'll jump ahead to when I first met my husband, I'll use his real name cause I'm sure I can:-) I was 22 at the time.
I'll have to give you a short update as to where I was in my life.. I was not in a very good place.
I was away from God and the Church, drinking hard, doing drugs, and partying almost everyday of the week, and in and out of unhealthy relationships.. I was not really talking to my adoptive family because of the choices I was making. I knew they'd be disappointed with the way I was living, and I didn't want to hear it. So I stayed away.
I was actually living with my birth dad and had been for about 2 months at this point. He didn't like how I was going out all the time either, but I didn't allow him to give me advice in any way.. I re connected with him about 2 years earlier, but that's another story..
Anyways... I can't remember what day it was, but I do know I was in no mood to go out.. I was probably hung over from the night before. One of my cousins called and asked if I wanted to go dancing. "Sorry Chuck, not really up for it" I replied. "Come on Lena, just for a bit" he said. I thought about it for a min, well I know I'd want him to go out with me if the tables were turned. And I was sure they would be in the near future. "Ok fine, I'll get ready" I said, and hung the phone up.
As I laid there on the soft sunken in beige couch in my birth dad's living room, I looked over him and noticed he was falling asleep in his chair.. I kind of felt my stomach turn knowing he's not going to be happy with what I'm about to tell him. How am I going to tell him again that I've decided to go out. I thought.. I didn't really want him to tell me again how unimpressed he was with the way I was living my life. How I should go back to school and do something with my life. Meh, really he doesn't have a say, no one does. And if they think they do, I'll simply say it's my life, mind yours!
"Dad, I'm going out for a bit" I say loudly while I roll off the couch and pull myself up.. "Ilene, you've go out too much, just stay in and go to bed"..
"I just made plans, I'm going out". I tell him as I walk up the stairs to get ready.. I hear him mumbling to himself.. Oh well, he'll get over it.
Chuck swings by to pick me up.. I hop in the car and light a smoke, and complain about my living arrangements.. "Man I need to get another place soon!" I say..
"Well start looking, you can get a nice place for cheap if it's just for you" he replies
Chuck's a good guy, smart, funny... Why doesn't he have a girl friend yet I think.
We get to Minglewoods and have a few beers before going in, this way we don't have to spend too much money once we're in there.. Frig beers are retardily priced at the bars, for 2 at the bar you can grab 6 from the store..
Chuck and I go in and there it is... The loud music, dim lighting, people all around laughing, playing pool, doing shots, and overall having a blast. The only thing was we didn't know any of them. It's always more fun when you walk in and there's a group of people you know, so you can join in on their fun.
We decide to play some pool after grabbing a beer at the bar. Well that ends fast.. Chucks a much better player than me, I'm not awful but yeah he's better.. So we decided after a couple games and a few more drinks to hear upstairs to the dance floor, i figure I have the "liquid courage" to dance a bit.
We get upstairs and there's a few people we know. We don't have the same friends, so he chats it up with his, and I catch up with some old acquaintances from high school..
Then we head out on the dance floor, we keep our space so that others know we're Not a couple.. Clearly the alcohol has entered my blood stream.. I've had shots, drinks, beers.. Probably more than I should have. And I'm definitely dancing too close to the speakers, but I like that I can actually feel the vibration of the base in my body, probably not good for my ears..
As I turn around I see him... By far the best looking guy I've ever laid eyes on.. And OH MY GOODNESS this guy can dance! He sees me and comes towards me.. "what is he doing" I think.. Oh man, way to hot for me to talk to. Suddenly he's on front of me dancing with me. Just like that..?? He didn't even tell me his name, didn't even say hi for that matter. Meh, I'm ok with that I'd probably just stumble over my words.. I tend to do that when I get awkward.
He pulls me close and asks, "Is he your boyfriend?" "Oh No!" I say "My cousin"..
Crap I think... I kind of do have a boyfriend. Cody... Well he's not a boyfriend, but we're trying it out.. Cody and I had a history. Both very attracted to each other but never really dated. And when I came back to Ottawa we decided that we'd try seeing each other a bit.. I never understood the difference of "seeing someone" to being "boyfriend and girlfriend".. But we had both said we were not boyfriend and girlfriend..
I decide this cute guy should know.. "I'm kind of seeing someone" I tell him. "Oh yeah, is he here?" he asks. No, we actually haven't talked much lately" I say. For some reason I couldn't get a hold of Cody, it's not like I didn't try. I figured he had maybe changed his mind about us, but I wasn't sure so I should let this gorgeous guy know that there was kind of a guy in my life.
We dance together all night on and off.. "I need a smoke, want to come?" I ask him "Sure, I quit a while ago but I'll have one or two with drinks" He responds. Fair enough, as long as he comes out with me I think.
So Chuck, him and I go out for a cigarette.
We introduce each other, Chuck and him shake hands.. He say's he's here with some friends, but doesn't know where they took off to.
Looking at him in more light I can't get over how good looking he is.. He's wearing a striped shirt with white, orange, and yellow.. He has longer light brown hair and blonde highlights.. Kind of the Justin Bieber cut, but his hair's thicker with a wave in it that later I find out he hates! I love it..
And his beautiful bright blue eyes, and perfect teeth that shine when he smiles as you see the adorable dimples in his cheeks. Wow, really by far the best looking man I've ever seen. Besides Brad Pitt of course! Saying that he could be a brother or cousin of Brad Pitt he's that attractive.
We go back inside for some more dancing, geezz this man can move. So confident and smooth. And that cute smile that comes on his face while dancing is freakin adorable.
Finally the last few songs come on, you know this because they're usually slow songs. We come closer together and dance. I feel like I'm in the movies, as he holds me close cheek to cheek I can't help think I do not want this night to end. His muscular arms around me, I can't help think I'm the luckiest girl in this place.
The song ends, I ask him to come out for another smoke before we have to part ways.. He comes.
His friends come out and say they're heading back to one of their places for some more drinks, he invites Chuck and I.
"Yes!" I reply almost before his invite is out of his mouth. Oopps.. I look at Chuck "Do you want to come, is that ok" I ask "Sure, kind of tired but I'll go for a bit" he says. Looking back he probably just came to make sure I wasn't going with some crazy guys.
We get to the hot guys friends place somewhere downtown, it's a really nice place. You can actually walk out onto the roof and he had a patio set up, with flowers and plants all around..
Then things get a little foggy... More shots, some drugs.. When all the substances have been entered into our bodies and there's nothing left, the hot guy says he has more at his place.. So we go there.
I wake up in the morning at his place... Oh my goodness "where am I, who am I with, where's Chuck" I think.. We wake up and all I can think is what is his name!? He's still soo nice, he makes breakfast for me, we talk about how we both were retarded the night before.. It's funny cause he says that he's ready to change his life, I tell him me too! He's in College, and works at the Scotia Bank Place where the Ottawa Senators play, he runs the kitchen for the suites..
What is his name!!??
One of his friends Steve comes over to smoke him on a joint.. Yes Finally I'll know his name, Steve has to say it at some point..
And he does! Literally right when he walks in he says it..
"Darren! How was your night!?"
Darren!!! His name is Darren....
No comments:
Post a Comment